“Go Time” Goro Shigeno


【プロレスMAJOR】「 GO TIME」茂野吾郎
PRO-WRESTLING MAJOR: ”GO TIME” GORO SHIGENO

ハッピーバースデー、茂野吾郎!(11月5日)
Happy birthday, Goro Shigeno!

私はあなたがそれを好き願っています。 あなたのフィードバックは非常に高く評価されています。
I hope you will like it. I would appreciate your feedback for this drawing.

漫画: MAJOR (メジャー)
Manga/Anime: MAJOR

—–

Additional Notes:

It’s that time of the year again. It’s November 5, which means it’s the fictional birthday of Goro Shigeno, the main character of the baseball anime/manga series MAJOR. And thus I continue my personal tradition that started since 2014.

For this piece, I decided to go for a baseball theme. One main reason for this is that the past couple of years saw the rise to baseball superstardom of Japanese baseball player Shohei Ohtani, who has been frequently compared to the original Goro Shigeno. As such, I also wanted my piece to be a nod to the man often called as the real-life Goro.

As part of my nod to Ohtani, I decided to use colors often associated with his current Major League Baseball (MLB) team, the Los Angeles Angels. As such, I put aside the green and white that I often used for Goro, and brought in red, white, navy blue, and grey. The nickname I used for Goro in this piece is “Go Time”, which is a nod to Ohtani’s nickname “Shotime”.

The baseball theme was also inspired by the planned (but eventually cancelled) pro-wrestling event of New Japan Pro-Wrestling (NJPW) in Yokohama Stadium, which seems to be the place where the Yokohama Ocean Stadium in MAJOR was based on. I conceptualized Goro being in a wrestling match in the middle of the Yokohama Stadium, thus the background. If ever I get enough time and energy for it, I may expand this further into drawing the match itself.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this piece. Happy birthday, Goro!

Alternative Versions

Comments (コメント)